Deep Breath

Standard

….I breathe in, I breathe out…

For me if someone goes after someone I care about I am more likely to fight with them then if the attack had been thrown in my direction. That truth about myself has become more apparent to me recently. If people want to throw stones in my direction that is one thing, I will take that, however, if the same stones are being thrown at someone I care about it is game on.

I have been asking myself a lot recently how the mama lion will come out for others but not for me. I think that reveals a truth about myself that I have drastically ignored. The reason I will fight like hell for them is because they are just as much apart of what makes me me as I am. The people I have allowed to be close with me in my life are my strength, they are my lifelines and there for I want to protect them. And while I protect them, I also am protecting myself. Does that make any sense?

Recently I have encountered a person whom frustrates me on almost a daily basis and it is someone I have to see a lot. His behavior has always kind of rubbed me the wrong way but up until recently it didn’t bother me to such a degree that I am willing to say something about it.

Everyone has the right to be their own person, express their own opinions and I will not challenge them on it if their views do not line up with mine. However, I do have a problem with someone insulting a friend of mine, and in turn me with his comment, in front of a group of people and thinking that their actions will not come back to bite them in the ass. When it first happened I had to take the moment, take a deep breath and calm myself. For if I had directed an outburst back at him in front of a group of people that would make me no better then him.

I have had two days to think about the best way to handle the situation and have realized that standing up for my friend in this situation is what is best. No one has the right to insult a person behind their back, it truly makes you a coward and it is a trait that I do not understand. And while I am not one for confrontation at all I do believe there are things worth fighting for, and there are people in my life that that rule applies to.

 

So… in moments of anger, sadness, frustration the best thing I can tell you to do is take a deep breath and center yourself. It is in moments of great emotion that sometimes we make our gravest errors. I didn’t want to make an error on behalf of my friend or on my own behalf. I encourage you to remember that when you face a similar situation.

I keep trying to remind myself of that, keep reminding myself that certain battles are not worth fighting. That in the long run they will be nothing more then a faded memory kept tucked away in a corner of your mind collecting dust. But in that moment, in that exact moment where something has sparked such a deep emotion how do you know? How do you know if it is a little thing or a big thing? That comes down to you. What in your life is going to be a defining moment? What in your life are you willing to let go of?

Stopping, taking a moment and asking those questions is the best thing you can do for yourself. In the words of Ralph Waldo Emerson:

“For every minute you remain angry, you give up sixty seconds of peace of mind.”

Don’t let someone control you with anger. Choose the path you want to follow all on your own.

 

Deep Breath, Love –

K

Leave a comment